Free shipping to Germany and Austria from 49 EUR | 10% new customer discount with code WELCOME-22

Sustainably Sourced

The food industry is one of the most unsustainable parts of the global economy. Short-sighted practices have become the norm, and the results have been catastrophic for the planet, farming communities and people’s health and happiness. 
But we believe it doesn’t have to be this way. .
 
The increased interdependence of farmers, brands, and consumers around the world gives us the chance to build networks and partnerships and make changes in our choices that can have a far-reaching effect. More than ever. From the material we use for our packaging to the way we dry our products, we are committed to sustainable practices and making a real difference through the way we act. By making choices that are right by nature we help you make the right choices.

All Plastic is Not Created Equal

Sustainably Packaged

  • Our packaging is 100% recyclable mono-substrate 25HD200.
  • This low-density material can easily be routed through most European recycling circuits.
  • Our ink and protective wrap are both solvent-free to ensure optimal recyclability and protection.
  • We are setting the market trend by offering larger packaging formats. Bigger packs = less waste, so if you want to go the extra mile for the planet, grab one of our larger pack sizes and stock up for the winter.
  • We are continuing to work towards more sustainable, protective, and easily recyclable packaging solutions through our work with the European Plastics Pledge.

Industry Pioneers

Both PlantLife and Lemberona (our parent company) are industry pioneers when it comes to packaging solutions. We actively collaborate with working groups to guide our efforts to minimise impact while ensuring the safety and quality of our products. As part of our continued efforts to implement the best possible packaging solution, we are proud to be a member of the European Plastics Pledge.


What is the European Plastics Pact?

The European Plastics Pact is an initiative that brings together leading countries and businesses from across Europe to achieve a fully circular and sustainable European plastics economy.

PlantLife is proud to join an impressive list of 18 national governments and more than 80 companies who have committed to the Pact and its principles.

As part of our membership, we are setting new targets for our plastic use and sharing these in the coming months as part of a new integrated sustainability plan for PlantLife.

Carbon Positive

As part of our commitment to being carbon positive, we are involved in reforestation programmes across Uzbekistan. Our carbon offsetting is assessed by a leading global sustainability consultancy: Anthesis. Anthesis has estimated the new PlantLife range to generate 537 tonnes CO2e per year from farm to customer delivery.

Back in 2013, our parent company, Lemberona, planted a mixed forest of 300 000 trees in a mountainous area near Samarkand, Uzbekistan, close to where our wild fruits and nuts are collected.
Today, the total amount of carbon captured by the forest each year is greater than the carbon emissions created by our product range, making us carbon positive!
 
What’s more, these trees were planted in deforested and erosion-prone mountain areas and help reduce the incidence of landslides and mudslides that can threaten the safety and security of villages in the mountains.


But we’re not stopping here, and we’ll be sharing some more plans to go even further in the coming months.

Our Processing Facility in Uzbekistan

Uzbekistan is a beautiful part of the world – fertile, scenic, and home to a hospitable, warm culture. It’s also our spiritual home and the source of many of our wonderful products. All PlantLife products from Uzbekistan come from one drying facility in the outskirts of Samarkand. The plant was Elmira’s idea and was built by Silk Road to create a sustainable, ethical facility that we’d be proud to call our own. The plant was designed from the ground up, with help from a top engineer and designer who helped make the dream a reality.

The plant uses a combination of solar and sun drying (one thing Uzbekistan is not short of is sunshine). Solar drying refers to using solar panels to generate heat while sun drying uses the pure sun rays themselves with products spread out on protected trays to be dried naturally. One of the unique features is a drying system that fuses low-tech with hi-tech by using stones to absorb heat during the day and release it slowly through the night to allow round the clock solar drying, even when there is no sun.

Between 60-200 people work at the plant - more in the high season and harvest and fewer in the winter. Many women are employed on the sorting desks, where they check for quality. The management team consists of 13 people, 4 of whom are women. The workers receive a good salary and free food – some have worked at the plant for more than twenty years!

Our Austrian Processing Facility

Once our products reach Austria, they’re taken to our plant in Sankt Pölten, just outside of Vienna. This high-tech plant uses resource-saving processes like our modern pressure chamber and spectroscopy or laser technology. Lasers help us sort our products, resulting in perfect quality in every pack.
 
Our high-pressure disinfection chamber ensures clean and safe goods in every PlantLife pack, without the use of chemicals or pesticides.

Versandkostenfreie Lieferung nach Deutschland und Österreich ab 49 EUR | 10% Neukundenrabatt mit Code WELCOME-22

Nachhaltig Hergestellt

Die Lebensmittelindustrie ist eine der am wenigsten nachhaltigen Branchen der Weltwirtschaft. Kurzsichtige, gewinnorientierte Praktiken sind zur Norm geworden, und die Auswirkungen sind katastrophal für den Planeten, die landwirtschaftlichen Gemeinschaften sowie die Gesundheit und das Glück der Menschen. Aber wir glauben, dass das nicht so sein muss.
 
Die zunehmende Vernetzung von Landwirten, Marken und Verbrauchern auf der ganzen Welt gibt uns die Möglichkeit, Netzwerke und Partnerschaften aufzubauen und Entscheidungen zu treffen, die für Landwirte, Verbraucher und die Natur eine Win-Win-Win-Situation herstellen. Von der Ernte über die Art und Weise, wie wir unsere Produkte trocknen, bis hin zum Material für unsere Verpackungen, setzen wir auf Nachhaltigkeit und machen durch unser Handeln einen echten Unterschied.

Plastik ist nicht gleich Plastik

Nachhaltig Verpackt

  • Unsere Verpackungen bestehen zu 100 % aus recycelbarem Monosubstrat 25HD200.
  • Dieses Material mit geringer Dichte kann problemlos den Recyclingkreisläufen in den meisten europäischen Ländern zugeführt werden.
  • Sowohl der Aufdruck als auch unsere Schutzfolie sind lösungsmittelfrei, um optimale Recyclingfähigkeit zu gewährleisten. .
  • Wir setzen den Markttrend, indem wir größere Verpackungsformate anbieten. Größere Packungen bedeuten weniger Abfall. Wenn du also einen Beitrag zum Umweltschutz leisten willst, entscheide dich für größere Packungen und einen Vorrat an Genuss.
  • Wir setzen uns für nachhaltigere und leicht wiederverwertbare Verpackungslösungen ein, indem wir mit dem European Plastics Pledge zusammenarbeiten.

Pioniere der Branche

Sowohl PlantLife als auch unsere Muttergesellschaft Lemberona sind Vorreiter der Branche, wenn es um Verpackungslösungen geht. Wir arbeiten aktiv in Arbeitsgruppen mit, um eine Minimierung der Auswirkungen bei gleichzeitiger Gewährleistung der Sicherheit und Qualität unserer Produkte zu gewährleisten. Als Teil unserer kontinuierlichen Bemühungen, die bestmögliche Verpackungslösung zu implementieren, sind wir stolz darauf, Mitglied des European Plastics Pledge zu sein.


Was ist der European Plastics Pact?

Eine Initiative, die führende Länder und Unternehmen aus ganz Europa zusammenbringt, um eine vollständig kreislauforientierte und nachhaltige, europäische Kunststoffwirtschaft zu schaffen.

PlantLife ist stolz darauf, sich in eine beeindruckende Liste von 18 nationalen Regierungen und mehr als 80 Unternehmen einzureihen, die sich diesem Pakt und seinen Prinzipien verpflichtet haben.

Im Rahmen unserer Mitgliedschaft setzen wir uns neue Ziele für unseren Plastikverbrauch und werden diese in den kommenden Monaten als Teil eines neuen integrierten Nachhaltigkeitsplans für PlantLife bekannt geben.

CO2 positiv

Im Rahmen unseres Engagements für einen positiven Kohlenstoffausstoß lassen wir unseren Kohlenstoffausgleich von der Anthesis Group, einer führenden globalen Nachhaltigkeitsberatung, jährlich neu bewerten. Anthesis hat errechnet, dass das gesamte neue PlantLife-Sortiment vom Anbau bis zur Auslieferung an den Kunden 537 Tonnen CO2 pro Jahr erzeugt.
 
Um unseren CO2-Ausstoß zu kompensieren, sind wir an Aufforstungsprogrammen in ganz Usbekistan beteiligt. 2013 pflanzte unsere Muttergesellschaft Lemberona einen Mischwald von über 300.000 Bäumen in einem Berggebiet bei Samarkand, ganz in der Nähe einer Sammelstelle für unsere Wildfrüchte und Nüsse. Heute ist die Gesamtmenge an CO2, die dieser Wald jedes Jahr aufnimmt, größer als die Kohlenstoffemissionen, die durch unseren Betrieb verursacht werden – so dass wir einen positiven Kohlenstoffausstoß haben!
 
Die Bäume wurden in abgeholzten und erosionsgefährdeten Berggebieten eingepflanzt und tragen auch dazu bei, die Häufigkeit von Erdrutschen und Schlammlawinen zu verringern, die die Bergdörfer gefährden. Aber das ist noch nicht alles – wir werden in den kommenden Monaten weitere Pläne vorstellen, um noch mehr CO2 zu kompensieren.

Nachhaltige Verarbeitung in Usbekistan

Usbekistan ist ein wunderschöner Teil der Welt – landschaftlich reizvoll, fruchtbar und die Heimat einer gastfreundlichen, herzlichen Kultur. Es ist auch unsere spirituelle Heimat und das Ursprungsland von vielen wunderbaren Produkten. Alle PlantLife-Produkte aus Usbekistan stammen aus einer Trocknungsanlage am Rande von Samarkand. Diese besondere Anlage war die Idee unserer Gründerin Elmira und wurde vom Unternehmen Silk Road gebaut, um eine nachhaltige und eine ethische Produktion zu schaffen, auf die wir bis heute stolz sind.

Die Anlage arbeitet mit einer Kombination aus Solar- und Sonnentrocknung, denn an Sonne mangelt es in Usbekistan nicht. Bei der Sonnentrocknung werden die reinen Sonnenstrahlen direkt genutzt, um unsere Produkte auf geschützten Tabletts natürlich zu trocknen. Bei der Solartrocknung wird mit Hilfe von Sonnenkollektoren Wärme für die Trocknung erzeugt. Einzigartig ist das Trocknungssystem, bei dem Steine tagsüber Wärme aufnehmen und sie nachts langsam wieder abgeben, um eine Trocknung rund um die Uhr zu ermöglichen, auch wenn keine Sonne scheint. Low-Tech trifft hier auf High-Tech.

In der Anlage arbeiten etwa 60 Personen - in der Hochsaison und bei der Ernte bis zu 200 Personen. Viele Frauen sind an den Sortiertischen beschäftigt, wo sie die Qualität kontrollieren. Das Management-Team besteht aus 13 Personen, davon vier Frauen. Die Arbeiter erhalten ein gutes Gehalt und kostenlose Mahlzeiten

Unser österreichischer Verarbeitungsbetrieb

Bei der Selektion der besten Ware an unserem Standort Sankt Pölten in der Nähe von Wien nutzen wir umweltfreundliche Anlagen. Mit Hilfe von schonender Druckbehandlung und spektroskopischen Messungen prüfen wir die Beschaffenheit und die Qualität – wir nehmen praktisch jede Nuss unter die Lupe.
 
Denn wir von PlantLife wollen dir mit jeder Packung Nüsse, Kerne oder Früchte die bestmögliche Premiumqualität anbieten: Nahrung, so geschmackvoll und so schön, wie die Natur sie geschaffen hat.

Deutsch